Day 273 …. Standing Stone in September

I went for a ride on my bike this afternoon, on this most gorgeous September afternoon,, I got nearly lost because I forgot my map, but found the way home via GPS on my iphone and a few exchanged words. It was a wonderful ride high up on Trannock Downs in our parish of Wendron. One of the wonderful discoveries I had was this….The Prospednick Longstone,  hidden away in a country lane, but stands prominently in the hedge by the side of the road.

Craig Weatherhill, in “Cornovia: Ancient Sites of Cornwall & Scilly” describes the Prospidnick Menhir as a “fine stone…situated just below the summit of Prospidnick Hill, on the east side of the lane, and stands 3.0m high. Like so many other Bronze Age menhirs, it is known locally as ‘The Longstone’.” We exchanged a few words and I moved on as the sun began to sink…

4 thoughts on “Day 273 …. Standing Stone in September

Leave a Reply

